

WARDS TO BE CONTESTED IN THE MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS OF 13 JUNE 2012

23/05/2012

Municipal ward by-elections will take place in four provinces namely Eastern Cape, Free State, Kwazulu-Natal and Limpopo on Wednesday, 13 June 2012.

A total of five (5) wards will be contested. Voting will take place in 27 voting districts in the following wards:

Eastern Cape:

• Ward 17 in Emalahleni [Lady Frere] Municipality – EC136 with 3 113 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

• Ward 8 in Matatiele [Matatiele] Municipality- EC441 with 3 619 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

Free State:

• Ward 33 in Matjhabeng [Welkom] Municipality – FS184 with 5 673 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Democratic Alliance and became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor.

Kwazulu-Natal:

• Ward 1 in Nqutu [Nqutu] Municipality – KZN242 with 5 032 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the Inkatha Freedom Party and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

Limpopo:

• Ward 12 in Blouberg [Bochum/My Darling] Municipality – LIM351 with 3 239 registered voters. The ward was previously represented by the African National Congress and became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor.

For more information on these by-elections including special votes, contact your local Municipal Electoral Officer during office hours. Contact details for Municipal Electoral Officers are available on the IEC website at www.elections.org.za under Contact Us.

Please see below the election timetable for the by-elections of 13 June 2012.

ISSUED BY THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Centurion 23 May 2012

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386 For media interviews: Please email requests to <u>spokesperson@elections.org.za</u>



ELECTION TIMETABLE FOR ALL MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS CALLED ON OR BEFORE 18 MAY 2012 TO BE HELD ON 13 JUNE 2012

The cut-off dates for the various electoral processes for these by-elections are as follows:

18 May: Notice calling the by-election on or before

21 May: Opening of applications for special votes

24 May: Certification of the voters' roll and making certified segments available for inspection

24 May: Notices: List of and particulars pertaining to voting stations and mobile voting stations

29 May at 17h00: Cut-off date and time for submission of nomination of candidates

30 May: Cut-off date to notify party/independent nominator of non-compliance of outstanding candidate documents

30 May: Closing of applications for special votes

1 June at 17h00: Cut-off date and time for party/independent nominator to submit outstanding ward candidate documents

4 June: Compilation and certification of lists of candidates contesting a ward

4 June: Issue certificates to candidates

12 June: Special votes at voting stations and special vote home visits – 08h00 to 17h00

13 June: By-election date