MINUTES

OF THE

1st SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2010

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

TUESDAY, 12 JANUARY 2010

at

16:00

COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING: 12 JANUARY 2010

ANC

	PROPORTIONAL			
1.	Leeto NS (Executive Mayor)	14.	Radebe ML (MMC)	
2.	Baaitjies M	15.	Ramaisa KA	
3.	Dlova TW (MMC)	16.	Senoge MM	
4.	Humphries MF (MMC)(WrittenApology)	17.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)	
5.	Masoleng NI	18.	Speelman NW (Absent)	
6.	Matlabe MMT (Written Apology)	19.	Qwesha GL	
7.	Sentle AN	20.	Thuthani ZA (MMC)	
8.	Ntsebeng MH (Written Apology)	21.	Radebe MC (Written Apology)	
9.	Noveld ZP(MMC)	22.	Tlhone ML	
10.	Molefi MJ	23.	Tsubane ME	
11.	Nyembe ME	24.	Twanana M	
12.	Petleki KI	25.	Vanga NM	
13.	Qabela V	26.	Khalipha TD	
		27.	Majoe TS (Absent)	
		RD		
28.	Phokwana SL	43	Motshabi MP	
29.	Kotzee AP (MMC)	44.	Mphikeleli MA	
30.	Mahloko NN (Absent)	45.	Nakwa TA	
31.	Makgowe PV	46.	Ntsala NS (Written Apology)	
32.	Mankayi NE	47.	Peterson E	
33.	Manzana NR	48.	Phetise ME	
34.	Masienyane MD	49.	Radebe LLF	
35.	Mathebula MA	50.	Rubulana L	
36.	Mfebe MSE	51.	Nteo SD	
37.	Mkhusane NC	52.	Sejane LM	
38.	Moahloli MS	53.	Semela ME	
39.	Mokhuma MS	54.	Sithole B	
40.	Mokobori KE (Written Apology)	55.	Taliwe FE	
41.	Monjovo NE	56.	Thembani PP	
42	Montshioa BA (MMC)	57.	Tsatsa SJ	

DA

	PROPORTIONAL			
58.	Edeling JH (Absent)	62.	Mhlafu BD (Absent)	
59.	Fourie JJC (Absent)	63.	Mokotedi TG (Absent)	
60.	Marais JS (Absent)	64.	Neumann VH (Absent)	
61.	Meyer KL (Absent)			
WARD				
65.	Styger A (Absent)	68.	Smit DC (Written Apology)	
66.	Beneke R (Absent)	69.	Van Rooyen HC (Absent)	
67.	Botha PF (Absent)		•	

FF+

PROPORTIONAL		
70.	Coetzee BJA (Written Apology)	

ACDP

PROPORTIONAL		
71.	Meko MA	

IND

	WARD		
72.	Liphoko SJ (Absent)		

OFFICIALS

Municipal Manager Chief Financial Officer Acting Snr Manager Council Admin Administrative Officer (Corporate Services) Mr TH Pietersen Me C Strickett

Mr TR Shiringani Mr J Jankowitz

SECTION A

1. OPENING

The Speaker welcomed everybody at the first meeting for the year and conveyed compliments for the new year.

The Speaker declared the meeting open and requested a moment of silence for all the families who have lost a loved one during the festive season.

A moment of silence was observed.

2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

None

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

5. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

SA1/2010

6. CLOSURE

The Speaker terminated the meeting at 16:07.

•••••	•••••
L RUBULANA (SPEAKER)	DATE

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA1/2010	DETERMINATION OF UPPER LIMITS OF SALARIES, ALLOWANCES AND BENEFITS OF DIFFERENT MEMBERS OF MUNICIPAL COUNCIL (6/6/2) (CFO)	1

SA1/2010

<u>DETERMINATION OF UPPER LIMITS OF SALARIES, ALLOWANCES AND BENEFITS OF DIFFERENT MEMBERS OF MUNICIPAL COUNCIL</u> (6/6/2) (CFO)

PURPOSE

To submit to Council the upper limits of salaries, allowances and benefits of different members of municipal council as per Government Gazette No 32833, dated 21 December 2009.

DISCUSSIONS

The Executive Mayor presented the item in Sotho. This is a translation of the proceedings.

The Executive Mayor indicated that the MEC for Cooperative Governance, Traditional Affairs and Human Settlements has granted concurrence in terms of section 7(3) of the Remuneration of Public Office Bearers Act, 1998 (Act No 20 of 1998), to the Municipality to implement the adjustment in the upper limits for the salaries, allowances and benefits payable to the different members of Council as promulgated in the Minister's Notice.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (12 JANUARY 2010)

That the Councillors' salaries, allowances and benefits **BE INCREASED** with immediate effect by 7%, backdated from 1 July 2009 as determined by the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.