MINUTES

OF THE

2ND SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2012

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

FRIDAY, 1 JUNE 2012

at

14:00

PROPORTIONAL			
1.	Ngangelizwe S (Executive Mayor)	12.	Petleki KI (Absent)
2.	Chaka CP	13.	Radebe MC
3.	Kotzee D	14.	Radebe ML
4.	Mafa DM	15.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)
5.	Mafongosi ZV (Absent)	16.	Speelman NW (Written Apology)
6.	Mbana MA	17	Stofile B (Speaker)
7.	Menyatso KJ	18	Twanana M
8.	Mkhusane NC	19	Tlhone ML
9.	Molefi MJ (Written Apology)	20.	Tsubane ME
10.	Motshabi MP	21.	Vanga NM (Absent)
11.	Ntsebeng MH	22.	Van Rooyen KV
	WA	٩RD	
23.	Dali VN	38.	Morris VR
24.	Khalipha TD (Written Apology)	39.	Mosala MS
25.	Mabote TL	40.	Mothege MA
26.	Madumise MM (Absent)	41.	Mphikeleli MA (Absent)
27.	Makgowe PV	42.	Ntlele KI
28.	Masienyane MD	43.	Phetise ME
29.	Mbambo AX	44.	Qwesha GL
30.	Mfebe MSE	45.	Riet MI
31.	Mokausi LC	46.	Sifatya Z (Written Apology)
32.	Mokhomo HA	47.	Taliwe FE (Absent)
33.	Molelekoa PA	48.	Thateng MJ
34.	Molelekoa PMI	49.	Thelingoane TJ
35.	Molete TN	50.	Tlake KR
36.	Molupe RT	51.	Tsatsa SJ (Written Apology)
37.	Monjovo NE	52.	Tsubella KS

DA

	PROPORTIONAL			
53.	Banyane ME	58.	Marais JS	
54.	Beneke R (Written Apology)	59.	Mholo PP (Written Apology)	
55.	Botha PF (Written Apology)	60.	Mlangeni MG	
56.	Fanie D	61.	Mokotedi TG	
57.	Fourie JJC	62.	Styger A	
	WARD			
63.	De Villiers MT (Absent)	66.	Smit DC	
64.	Meyer KL (Absent)	67.	Van Rooyen MS	
65.	Naude HJ (Written Apology)	68.	Van Schalkwyk HCT	

COPE

	PROPORTIONAL			
69.	Matlebe MM (Written Apology)	71.	Thoabala TE	
70.	May FG (Written Apology)			

FF+

	PROPORTIONAL	
72.	Taljaard SDM	

OFFICIALS

Mr G Ramathebane	:	Municipal Manager
Mr S Makhubu	:	Executive Director Strategic Support Services
Mr J Molawa	:	Acting Executive Director Corporate Support Services
Mr M Besani	:	Executive Director Infrastructure
Me M Mogopodi	:	Executive Director Social Services and Law
		Enforcement
Mr X Msweli	:	Executive Director LED & Planning
Me A Schoeman	:	Admin Officer (Corporate Services)

SECTION A

1. **OPENING**

The Speaker welcomed everybody present at the meeting and declared the meeting officially opened.

2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

The Speaker informed Councillors about a workshop on 15 June 2012 where the Auditor-General would inform Council about its role to achieve a clean audit in 2014.

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

5. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

SA2/2012

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Speaker indicated that a special Council meeting would be held on 6 or 7 June 2012 to appoint an acting Municipal Manager as the Municipal Manager would be attending a CPMD Course.

7. CLOSURE

The Speaker ended the meeting at **14:15.**

B STOFILE (SPEAKER)

DATE

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA2/2012	APPOINTMENT OF AN ACTING CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (MM) (5/5/2)	1

SA2/2012

APPOINTMENT OF AN ACTING CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (MM) (5/5/2)

PURPOSE

The purpose of the item is to request Council to appoint an Acting Chief Financial Officer (ACFO)

DISCUSSIONS

The Executive Mayor presented the item.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (1 JUNE 2012)

- 1. That Council **APPOINTS** Ms L Williams as acting Chief Financial Officer with effect from 1 June 2012.
- 2. That the acting period **SHOULD NOT EXCEED** three (3) months.
- 3. That the process of recruiting a Chief Financial Officer MUST BE FINALISED.