MINUTES

OF THE

2nd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2010

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

FRIDAY, 26 MARCH 2010

at

14:00

COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING: 26 MARCH 2010

ANC

	PROPORTIONAL			
1.	Ngangelizwe S	14.	Radebe ML	
2.	Baaitjies M	15.	Ramaisa KA	
3.	Dlova TW	16.	Senoge MM	
4.	Humphries MF	17.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)	
5.	Masoleng NI	18.	Speelman NW	
6.	Matlabe MMT	19.	Qwesha GL	
7.	Sentle AN	20.	Thuthani ZA	
8.	Ntsebeng MH	21.	Radebe MC	
9.	Noveld ZP	22.	Tlhone ML	
10.	Molefi MJ	23.	Tsubane ME	
11.	Nyembe ME	24.	Twanana M	
12.	Petleki Kl	25.	Vanga NM	
13.	Qabela V	26.	Khalipha TD	
		27.	Majoe TS	
	WA	RD		
28.	Phokwana SL	43	Motshabi MP	
29.	Kotzee AP	44.	Mphikeleli MA	
30.	Mahloko NN	45.	Nakwa TA	
31.	Makgowe PV	46.	Ntsala NS	
32.	Mankayi NE	47.	Peterson E	
33.	Manzana NR	48.	Phetise ME	
34.	Masienyane MD	49.	Radebe LLF	
35.	Mathebula MA	50.	Rubulana L	
36.	Mfebe MSE (Absent)	51.	Nteo SD	
37.	Mkhusane NC	52.	Sejane LM	
38.	Moahloli MS	53.	Semela ME	
39.	Mokhuma MS	54.	Sithole B	
40.	Mokobori KE	55.	Taliwe FE	
41.	Monjovo NE	56.	Thembani PP	
42	Montshioa BA	57.	Tsatsa SJ	

DA

	PROPORTIONAL				
58.	Edeling JH	62.	Mhlafu BD (Absent		
59.	Fourie JJC	63.	Mokotedi TG		
60.	Marais JS (Written Apology)	64.	Neumann VH		
61.	Meyer KL (Written Apology)				
	WARD				
65.	Styger A (Written Apology)	68.	Smit DC		
66.	Beneke R	69.	Van Rooyen HC (Written Apology)		
67.	Botha PF				

FF+

	PROPORTIONAL
70.	Coetzee BJA (Written Apology)

ACDP

	PROPORTIONAL	
71.	Meko MA	

IND

	WARD
72.	Liphoko SJ

OFFICIALS

Mr TH Pietersen	:	Municipal Manager
Mr MB Ndubula	:	Executive Director Corporate Support Services
Mr M Besani	:	Executive Director Infrastructure
Me KR Maloka	:	Executive Director Social Services and Law
		Enforcement
Mr J Jankowitz	:	Administrative Officer (Corporate Services)

SECTION A

1. **OPENING**

Pastor Skosana opened the meeting with Scripture reading and a prayer.

2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

- 3.1 The Speaker indicated that there was a National call that Fridays should be indicated by yellow jerseys in support of Bafana Bafana. World Cup would start on 11 June 2010 until 11 July 2010.
- 3.2 The Speaker indicated that the airconditioner did not work and that the Chambers was very hot, therefore Councillors were allowed to take off their jackets.
- 3.3 The Speaker welcomed Me A Motlekar from the Department of Justice.
- 3.4 The Speaker announced the following bereavements:

(a) Cllr M Twanana's son was buried a week ago.(b) Cllr Taliwe's father passed away.

A moment of silence was observed.

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

5. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

SA2/2010 - SA4/2010

6. TAKING OF OATH OF OFFICE BY A NEW COUNCILLOR

After Item SA3/2010, the Speaker indicated that Cllr Qwesha could not take Oath of Office at the end of 2009 and therefore he and Cllr S Ngangelizwe were called forward to take Oath of Office as Councillors of Matjhabeng Municipality.

7. TAKING OF OATH OF OFFICE BY THE NEW EXECUTIVE MAYOR

After Item SA4/2010 Cllr S Ngangelizwe was given the chance to take Oath of Office as Executive Mayor.

8. MOTION OF CONGRATULATIONS FROM POLITICAL PARTIES

- ACDP : Cllr Meko congratulated the Executive Mayor.
- DA : Cllr Botha, on behalf of Cllr Marais, congratuled the Executive Mayor on his election.
- ANC : Cllr Sephiri congratulated the Executive Mayor on his election.

9. ACCEPTANCE SPEECH BY THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR

Cllr S Ngangelizwe was given the opportunity to deliver his acceptance speech.

10. MOTION OF CONGRATULATIONS FROM THE SPEAKER

The Speaker congratulated the Executive Mayor, Cllr S Ngangelizwe on his election.

11. CLOSURE

The Speaker terminated the meeting at 15:15.

L RUBULANA (SPEAKER)

DATE

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA2/2010	RESIGNATIONOFTHEEXECUTIVEMAYOR(4/1/1/4) (MM)	1
SA3/2010	PLACEMENT ON THE LIST OF COUNCILLORS OF MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY: CLLR S NGANGELIZWE (4/1/1/4) (MM)	1
SA4/2010	ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR (4/1/2/1) (MM)	2

SA2/2010

RESIGNATION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR (4/1/1/4) (MM)

PURPOSE

To submit the resignation of the Executive Mayor to Council for information.

DISCUSSION

The Speaker informed the meeting that the Executive Mayor, Cllr NS Leeto, had resigned.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (26 MARCH 2010)

- 1. That Council **TAKES NOTE** of the resignation of the Executive Mayor, Cllr NS Leeto, as Executive Mayor as well as Councillor of Matjhabeng Municipality.
- 2. That Council **TAKES NOTE** that the Mayoral Committee appointed by the Executive Mayor, Cllr NS Leeto, dissolves on 16 March 2010 in terms of Section 60(5) of the Local Government Municipal Structures Act (No 117 of 1989).

SA3/2010

<u>PLACEMENT ON THE LIST OF COUNCILLORS OF MATJHABENG</u> <u>MUNICIPALITY: CLLR S NGANGELIZWE</u> (4/1/1/4) (MM)

PURPOSE

To submit to Council an item, for notification, on the placement of Councillor S Ngangelizwe as a councillor for Matjhabeng Local Municipality.

DISCUSSION

The Speaker indicated that the ANC decided that the vacancy that was declared should be filled by Cllr S Ngangelizwe.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (26 MARCH 2010)

That Council **TAKES NOTE** of the inclusion of Cllr S Ngangelizwe on the list of ANC Proportional Councillors.

SA4/2010

ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR (4/1/2/1) (M M)

PURPOSE

To submit an item to Council in order to enable Councillors to elect an Executive Mayor.

DISCUSSION

The Speaker indicated that the Executive Mayor resigned and therefore there was a vacancy and an Executive Mayor should be elected.

Nominations were invited and the following nominations were received:

Cllr S Ngangelizwe.

Cllr S Ngangelizwe indicated that he was available.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (26 MARCH 2010)

That Cllr S Ngangelizwe **BE ELECTED** the Executive Mayor of Matjhabeng Municipality.