MINUTES

of the

3rd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2013

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

TUESDAY, 27 AUGUST 2013

at

14:00

COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CIVIC CENTER, WELKOM

COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: 3RD SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: 27 AUGUST 2013

ANC

PROPORTIONAL					
1. Ngangelizwe S (Executive Mayor)			Radebe MC		
2.	Chaka CP	13.	Radebe ML		
3.	Kotzee D (Written Apology)	14.	Rubulana L (Written Apology)		
4.	Mafa DM	15.	Sephiri MJ		
5.	Mafongosi ZV	16.	Speelman NW		
6.	Mbana MA	17	Stofile B		
7.	Menyatso KJ	18	Tihone ML		
8.	Mkhusane NC	19	Tsubane ME		
9.	Motshabi MP	20.	Twanana M		
10.	Ntsebeng MH (Written Apology)	21.	Vanga NM (Absent)(Not Signed)		
11.	Petleki KI (Written Apology)	22.	Van Rooyen KV		
	WA	ARD			
23.	Dali VN	38.	Morris VR		
24.	Khalipha TD	39.	Mosala MS		
25.	Mabote TL	40.	Mothege MA		
26.	Madumise MM (Written Apology)	41.	Mphikeleli MA		
27.	Makgowe PV	42.	Ntlele KI		
28.	Masienyane MD	43.	Phetise ME		
29.	Mbambo AX	44.	Qwesha GL		
30.	Mfebe MSE	45.	Riet MI		
31.	Mokausi LC	46.	Sifatya Z		
32.	Mokhomo HA	47.	Taliwe FE (Written Apology)		
33.	Molelekoa PA (Absent) (Not Signed)	48.	Thateng MJ		
34.	Molelekoa PMI	49.	Thelingoane TJ		
35.	Molete TN	50.	Tlake KR		
36.	Molupe RT	51.	Tsatsa SJ		
37.	Monjovo NE (Written Apology)	52.	Tsubella KS (Written Apology)		

DA

PROPORTIONAL				
53.	Banyane ME (Written Apology)	58.	Marais JS	
54.	Badenhorst MJ (Absent) (Not Signed)	59.	Mholo PP	
55.	Botha PF	60.	Mlangeni MG	
56.	Fanie D	61.	Mokotedi TG	
57.	Fourie JJC	62.	Styger A	
WARD				
63.	De Villiers MT	66.	Smit DC (Written Apology)	
64.	Beneke R (Written Apology)	67.	Van Rooyen MS	
65.	Naude HJ	68.	88. Van Schalkwyk HCT	

COPE

	PROPORTIONAL				
69.	Matlebe MM (Absent)(Not Signed)	71.	Vacant		
70.	May FG (Written Apology)				

FF+

PROPORTIONAL			
72.	Taljaard SDM (Written Apology)		

OFFICIALS

Mr G Ramathebane Municipal Manager

Executive Director Strategic Support Services
Executive Director Corporate Support Services
Executive Director LED and Planning Mr S Makhubu Mr MF Lepheana

Mr X Msweli

Ms M Mogopodi **Executive Director Social Services and Law**

Enforcement

Acting Chief Financial Officer Me L Williams

Mr JKF Jankowitz Snr Admin Officer (Corporate Services)

1.	OPENING
	The Speaker welcomed everybody present and declared the meeting opened.
2.	APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE
	See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.
3.	OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER
	None
4.	DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST
	None
5.	MOTION OF SYMPATHY AND CONGRATULATIONS
	Sympathy
	The Speaker conveyed his condolonces to Cllr NE Monjovo and Cllr MH Ntsebeng who both lost a sister.
6.	MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION
	SA4/2013 - SA5/2013
7.	SA4/2013 – SA5/2013 ANNOUNCEMENTS
7.	
7. 8.	ANNOUNCEMENTS
	ANNOUNCEMENTS None.
	ANNOUNCEMENTS None. CLOSURE

CLLR B STOFILE (SPEAKER)

DATE

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA4/2013	PROGRESS REPORT MPAC: UNAUTHORISED, IRREGULAR OR FRUITLESS AND WASTEFUL EXPENDITURE INCURRED FOR THE PERIOD 1 JULY 2011 TO 30 JUNE 2012 (CHAIRPERSON MPAC) (6/1/2/2)	1
SA5/2013	PROGRESS REPORT ON THE APPOINTMENT OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE MEMBERS (EDCSS) (6/12/3/1)	1

SA4/2013

PROGRESS REPORT MPAC: UNAUTHORISED, IRREGULAR OR FRUITLESS AND WASTEFUL EXPENDITURE INCURRED FOR THE PERIOD 1 JULY 2011 TO 30 JUNE 2012 (CHAIRPERSON MPAC) (6/1/2/2)

PURPOSE

To submit to the Council a progress report on the unauthorised expenditure incurred for the financial year ended 30 June 2012.

DISCUSSION

Cllr JS Marais requested a short caucus, which were granted by the Speaker.

The Speaker afforded the Chairperson of MPAC, Cllr MP Motshabi to present the item to Council.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (27 AUGUST 2013)

- 1. That Council **TAKES NOTE** of the progress report.
- 2. That Council **ALLOWS** the Municipal Manager to request permission for the late submission of the financial statements.
- 3. That National Treasury **BE REQUESTED** to assist with the interpretation of Circular 68 of National Treasury.

SA5/2013

APPOINTMENT OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE MEMBERS (EDCSS) (6/12/3/1)

PURPOSE

To submit to Council the names of recommended candidates as members of the Audit Committee to the Council for their appointment.

DISCUSSION

The Executive Mayor presented the item to Council.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (27 AUGUST 2013)

That the following candidates be appointed as Audit Committee Members:

- 1. Dan Moeti (Chairperson)
- 2. Pule David Khiba
- 3. Beatrice Mating Ntuka