MINUTES

OF THE

3rd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2011

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

THURSDAY, 14 JULY2011

at

14:00

COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING: 14 JULY 2011

ANC

	PROPORTIONAL			
1.	Ngangelizwe S (Executive Mayor)	12.	Motshabi MP	
	(Absent)			
2.	Chaka CP (Absent)	13.	Ntsebeng MH	
3.	Kotzee D	14.	Petleki KI	
4.	Lande ME	15.	Radebe MC	
5.	Mafa DM	16.	Radebe ML	
6.	Mafongosi ZV	17	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)	
7.	Matlabe MMT (Absent)	18	Speelman NW	
8.	Mbana MA	19	Stofile B (Speaker)	
9.	Menyatso KJ	20.	Tlhone ML	
10.	Mkhusane NC	21.	Tsubane ME	
11.	Molefi MJ	22.	Vanga NM	
	WA	ARD		
23.	Dali VN (Absent)	38.	Morris VR	
24.	Khalipha TD	39.	Mosala MS	
25.	Mabote TL	40.	Mothege MA	
26.	Madumise MM	41.	Mphikeleli MA	
27.	Makgowe PV	42.	Ntlele KI	
28.	Masienyane MD	43.	Phetise ME	
29.	Mbambo AX	44.	Qwesha GL (Absent)	
30.	Mfebe MSE	45.	Riet MI	
31.	Mokausi LC	46.	Sifatya Z	
32.	Mokhomo HA	47.	Taliwe FE	
33.	Molelekoa PA	48.	Thateng MJ	
34.	Molelekoa PMI	49.	Thelingoane TJ	
35.	Molete TN	50.	Tlake KR	
36.	Molupe RT	51.	Tsatsa SJ	
37.	Monjovo NE	52.	Tsubella KS	

DA

PROPORTIONAL			
53.	Banyane ME	58.	Marais JS
54.	Beneke R	59.	Mholo PP
55.	Botha PF	60.	Mlangeni MG
56.	Fanie D	61.	Mokotedi TG
57.	Fourie JJC	62.	Styger A (Absent)
WARD			
63.	De Villiers MT	66.	Smit DC (Absent)
64.	Meyer KL	67.	Van Rooyen MS
65.	Naude HJ	68.	Van Schalkwyk HCT

COPE

PROPORTIONAL			
69.	Matlebe MM	71.	Thoabala TE
70.	May FG		

FF+

PROPORTIONAL		
72.	Taljaard SDM	

OFFICIALS

Mr P Sefuthi

Acting Municipal Manager
Executive Director Strategic Support Services
Acting Director Corporate Support Services
Acting Executive Director Social Services
Executive Director Infrastructure Mr S Makhubu Mr M Atolo Mr E Motheoane

Mr M Besani Acting Chief Financial Officer Ms L Williams

Mr JKF Jankowitz Council Administration

SECTION A

1. OPENING

The Speaker welcomed everybody present and requested Cllr PF Botha to open the meeting with a prayer.

2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

- 3.1 The Speaker informed Councillors that they would be informed about the arrangements for 18 June 2011, i.e. Mandela Day.
- 3.2 The Speaker reminded Councillors to complete the Disclosure of Interest forms.

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

5. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

SA4/2011 - SA7/2011

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS

None

7.	CLOSURE
7.	CLOSUK

The Speaker ended the meeting at 14:50.		
••••	•••••	
B STOFILE (SPEAKER)	DATE	

IV

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA4/2011	APPROVAL OF THE BANKING FACILITIES AND OVERDRAFT OFFERED BY ABSA BANK LIMITED (MM) (6/14/1)	1
SA5/2011	FREE STATE MUNICIPAL PENSION FUND : ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR REPRESENTATIVES TO THE GENERAL COMMITTEE OF THE FREE STATE MUNICIPAL PENSION FUND (4/1/2/2) (Office of the Speaker)	1
SA6/2011	ESTABLISHMENT OF THE SECTION 80 COMMITTEES (3/7/1/1) (4/1/2/2) (MM)	2
SA7/2011	APPOINTMENT OF THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER (Executive Mayor) (5/3/2/1)	2

SA4/2011

APPROVAL OF THE BANKING FACILITIES AND OVERDRAFT OFFERED BY ABSA BANK LIMITED (MM) (6/14/1)

PURPOSE

To submit to Council the banking facilities schedule and overdraft offered by ABSA Bank Limited.

DISCUSSIONS

The Acting Executive Mayor, Cllr ME Lande, presented the item.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (14 JULY 2011)

That Council **CONDONES** the Executive Mayor's decision on approving the banking facilities and overdraft facility of **R10 000 000** for the 2011/12 financial year commencing 1 July 2011 to 30 June 2012.

//Council unanimously appointed Cllr MH Ntsebeng as acting Speaker to allow the Speaker to present the item.//

SA5/2011

FREE STATE MUNICIPAL PENSION FUND : ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR REPRESENTATIVES TO THE GENERAL COMMITTEE OF THE FREE STATE MUNICIPAL PENSION FUND (4/1/2/2) (Office of the Speaker)

PURPOSE

To inform Council on the representatives elected to serve on the Free State Municipal Pension Fund.

DISCUSSIONS

Cllr B Stofile presented the item.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (14 JULY 2011)

That Council **CONDONES** the appointment of Cllr PF Botha, Cllr B Stofile, Cllr SDM Taljaard, Cllr MJ Sephiri and Cllr MD Masienyane as representatives on the General Committee of the Free State Municipal Pension Fund.

SA6/2011

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE SECTION 80 COMMITTEES (3/7/1/1) (4/1/2/2) (MM)

PURPOSE

To inform Council on the formation of the Section 80 Committees.

DISCUSSIONS

The Acting Executive Mayor, Cllr ME Lande, presented the item.

Corrections were made to the spelling of the following Cllrs surnames: Mosale, Madumise and Matlebe.

Cllr Speelman indicated that Cllrs Ntsebeng and Matlabe's names were omitted.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (14 JULY 2011)

That Council **TAKES NOTE** of the item.

SA7/2011

<u>APPOINTMENT OF THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER</u> (EXECUTIVE MAYOR) (5/3/2/1)

PURPOSE

To report to Council about the process of appointing the Municipal Manager of Matjhabeng Local Municipality.

DISCUSSIONS

The Acting Executive Mayor presented the item.

The Chief Whip thanked the acting Municipal Manager, Mr SA Sefuthi, for a job well done.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (14 JULY 2011)

1. That Council **APPOINTS** Mr G Ramathebane as the Municipal Manager of Matjhabeng Local Municipality.

- 2. That the Executive Mayor **BE DELEGATED** the function of negotiating the remuneration package with the appointed Municipal Manager and report to Council for finalization.
- 3. That the Executive Mayor **FINALIZES** the contract of employment, performance agreement and financial disclosure form with the appointed Municipal Manager.
- 4. That Mr G Ramathebane MUST ASSUME duties on receipt of his appointment letter.