MINUTES

OF THE

3rd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2012

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

FRIDAY, 8 JUNE 2012

at

09:00

ANC

PROPORTIONAL			
1.	Ngangelizwe S (Executive Mayor)	12.	Petleki KI
2.	Chaka CP	13.	Radebe MC
3.	Kotzee D (Written Apology)	14.	Radebe ML
4.	Mafa DM	15.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)
5.	Mafongosi ZV	16.	Speelman NW (Written Apology)
6.	Mbana MA	17	Stofile B (Speaker)
7.	Menyatso KJ	18	Twanana M (Written Apology)
8.	Mkhusane NC (Written Apology)	19	Tlhone ML
9.	Molefi MJ (Written Apology)	20.	Tsubane ME
10.	Motshabi MP (Absent)	21.	Vanga NM (Absent)
11.	Ntsebeng MH (Written Apology)	22.	Van Rooyen KV
WARD			
23.	Dali VN	38.	Morris VR
24.	Khalipha TD	39.	Mosala MS
25.	Mabote TL (Written Apology)	40.	Mothege MA
26.	Madumise MM	41.	Mphikeleli MA (Written Apology)
27.	Makgowe PV (Written Apology)	42.	Ntlele KI
28.	Masienyane MD (Written Apology)	43.	Phetise ME (Written Apology)
29.	Mbambo AX	44.	Qwesha GL (Absent)
30.	Mfebe MSE	45.	Riet MI
31.	Mokausi LC	46.	Sifatya Z (Absent)
32.	Mokhomo HA	47.	Taliwe FE
33.	Molelekoa PA	48.	Thateng MJ (Absent)
34.	Molelekoa PMI	49.	Thelingoane TJ
35.	Molete TN	50.	Tlake KR (Absent)
36.	Molupe RT	51.	Tsatsa SJ
37.	Monjovo NE	52.	Tsubella KS

DA

	PROPORTIONAL				
53.	Banyane ME	58.	Marais JS		
54.	Beneke R	59.	Mholo PP (Absent)		
55.	Botha PF	60.	Mlangeni MG		
56.	Fanie D	61.	Mokotedi TG		
57.	Fourie JJC (Written Apology)	62.	Styger A (Absent)		
	WARD				
63.	De Villiers MT (Absent)	66.	Smit DC		
64.	Vacant	67.	Van Rooyen MS		
65.	Naude HJ (Absent)	68.	Van Schalkwyk HCT		

COPE

PROPORTIONAL			
69.	Matlebe MM	71.	Thoabala TE
70.	May FG		

FF+

PROPORTIONAL			
72.	Taljaard SDM		

OFFICIALS

Mr G Ramathebane	:	Municipal Manager
Mr S Makhubu	:	Executive Director Strategic Support Services
Mr J Molawa	:	Acting Executive Director Corporate Support Services
Mr M Besani	:	Executive Director Infrastructure
Me M Mogopodi	:	Executive Director Social Services and Law
		Enforcement
Mr X Msweli	:	Executive Director LED & Planning
Mr J Jankowitz	:	Snr Admin Officer (Corporate Services)

SECTION A

1. OPENING

The Speaker welcomed everybody present at the meeting and declared the meeting officially opened.

2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

None

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

5. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

SA3/2012

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Executive Mayor informed Council that Cllr A Mbana was acting as MMC: LED and Cllr KJ Menyatso was acting as MMC: Public Safety & Transport.

The Speaker requested Councillors to sign the attendance register in the Office of the Municipal Manager and not in the Council Chambers.

7. CLOSURE

The Speaker ended the meeting at **09:15.**

B STOFILE (SPEAKER)

DATE

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA3/2012	APPOINTMENT OF AN ACTING MUNICIPAL MANAGER (MM) (5/5/2)	1

SA3/2012

APPOINTMENT OF ACTING MUNICIPAL MANAGER (MM) (5/5/2)

PURPOSE

To request Council to appoint an acting Municipal Manager.

DISCUSSIONS

The Executive Mayor presented the item.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (8 JUNE 2012)

- 1. That Council appoints Ms M Mogopodi as the Acting Municipal Manager for the period 11 June 2012 to 15 June 2012 during which the Municipal Manager will be absent.
- 2. That the authority to act as the Acting Municipal Manager be automatically terminated by the earlier return of the Municipal Manager prior to the expiry of the acting period.