MINUTES

of the

4th SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2013

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

FRIDAY, 27 SEPTEMBER 2013

at

14:00

COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CIVIC CENTER, WELKOM

COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: 4th SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: 26 SEPTEMBER 2013

ANC

PROPORTIONAL			
1.	Ngangelizwe S (Executive Mayor)	12.	Radebe MC
2.	Chaka CP	13.	Radebe ML (Written Apology)
3.	Kotzee D	14.	Rubulana L
4.	Mafa DM	15.	Sephiri MJ (Absent)(Not signed)
5.	Mafongosi ZV	16.	Speelman NW (Written Apology)
6.	Mbana MA	17	Stofile B (Speaker)
7.	Menyatso KJ	18	Tlhone ML
8.	Semela MJ (Chief Whip)(Written	19	Tsubane ME
	Apology)		
9.	Motshabi MP	20.	Twanana M
10.	Ntsebeng MH	21.	Vanga NM
11.	Petleki KI	22.	Van Rooyen KV
	WA	ARD	
23.	Dali VN	38.	Morris VR
24.	Khalipha TD	39.	Mosala MS (Written Apology)
25.	Mabote TL	40.	Mothege MA
26.	Madumise MM (Absent)(not signed)	41.	Mphikeleli MA
27.	Makgowe PV	42.	Ntlele KI
28.	Masienyane MD (Absent)(not signed)	43.	Phetise ME
29.	Mbambo AX	44.	Qwesha GL
30.	Mfebe MSE	45.	Riet MI
31.	Mokausi LC (Written Apology)	46.	Sifatya Z
32.	Mokhomo HA	47.	Taliwe FE (Absent)(not signed)
33.	Molelekoa PA	48.	Thateng MJ
34.	Molelekoa PMI	49.	Thelingoane TJ
35.	Molete TN	50.	Tlake KR
36.	Molupe RT	51.	Tsatsa SJ
37.	Monjovo NE	52.	Tsubella KS

DA

	PROPORTIONAL			
53.	Banyane ME	58.	Marais JS (Absent)(not signed)	
54.	Badenhorst MJ	59.	Mholo PP (Absent)(not signed)	
55.	Botha PF	60.	Mlangeni MG (Absent)(not signed)	
56.	Fanie D (Absent)(not signed)	61.	Mokotedi TG	
57.	Fourie JJC (Absent)(not signed)	62.	Styger A (Written Apology)	

	WARD			
63.	De Villiers MT	66.	Smit DC (Written Apology)	
64.	Beneke R (Absent)(not signed)	67.	Van Rooyen MS (Absent)(not signed)	
65.	Naude HJ (Absent)(not signed)	68.	Van Schalkwyk HCT	

П

COPE

	PROPORTIONAL			
69.	Matlebe MM (Written Apology)	71.	Malefane DM	
70.	May FG (Written Apology)			

FF+

	PROPORTIONAL		
72.	Taljaard SDM		

OFFICIALS

Mr G Ramathebane

Municipal Manager Executive Director Strategic Support Services Executive Director Corporate Support Services Acting Chief Financial Officer Snr Admin Officer (Corporate Services) Mr S Makhubu Mr MF Lepheana Me L Williams

Mr JKF Jankowitz

1. OPENING

The Speaker welcomed everybody present and declared the meeting opened.

The Speaker submitted a special welcome to the Chief Magistrate.

2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

None

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

5. MOTION OF SYMPATHY AND CONGRATULATIONS

None

6. TAKING OF THE OATH OF OFFICE BY NEW COUNCILLOR

The Chief Magistrate administered the taking of Oath by Councillor DE Malefane.

Cllr MP Motshabi congratulated the Councillor on taking of Oath.

7. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

SA7/2013

8. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Executive Mayor welcomed Councillor DE Malefane as a Councillor of Matjhabeng.

The Executive Mayor informed Council that Councillor TD Khalipha is now the Chairperson of the Section 80 Human Settlement and Councillor FE Taliwe is the Chairperson of Section 80 Policy and Development.

The Executive Mayor informed Council that Councillors will be invited to the hand over of Sport Facilities during October 2013.

9.	CLOSURE	
	The Speaker ended the meeting at 14:30.	
CL	LR B STOFILE (SPEAKER)	DATE

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA7/2013	PROGRESS REPORT ON THE UNAUTHORISED, IRREGULAR OR FRUITLESS AND WASTEFUL EXPENDITURE INCURRED FOR THE PERIOD 1 JULY 2011 TO 30 JUNE 2012 (Chairperson of MPAC) (6/1/2/2)	1

SA7/2013

PROGRESS REPORT ON THE UNAUTHORISED, IRREGULAR OR FRUITLESS AND WASTEFUL EXPENDITURE INCURRED FOR THE PERIOD 1 JULY 2011 TO 30 JUNE 2012 (Chairperson of MPAC) (6/1/2/2)

PURPOSE

To submit to Council a progress report on the unauthorised expenditure incurred for the financial year ended 30 June 2012.

DISCUSSION

The Speaker afforded the Chairperson of MPAC, Cllr MP Motshabi to present the item to Council.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (27 SEPTEMBER 2013)

- 1. That Council **AUTHORISE** the non cash items to the amount of R634 537 027.20 by means of a special ajustment budget as the Municipality did not suffer any material loss as a result of the action.
- 2. That the difference of R135 164 467.08 **BE SUBMITTED** to the Municipal Public Accounts Committee before end October 2013 for further discussion and recommendation to Council.