MINUTES

OF THE

5th SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2011

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

TUESDAY, 13 DECEMBER 2011

at

15:00

COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING: 13 DECEMBER 2011

ANC

	PROPORTIONAL				
1.	Ngangelizwe S (Executive Mayor)	12.	Ntsebeng MH		
	(Apology)		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		
2.	Chaka CP	13.	Petleki Kl		
3.	Kotzee D (Absent)	14.	Radebe MC (Written Apology)		
4.	Lande ME (Written Apology)	15.	Radebe ML (Absent)		
5.	Mafa DM (Written Apology)	16.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)		
6.	Mafongosi ZV	17	Speelman NW (Absent)		
7.	Mbana MA (Acting Executive	18	Stofile B (Speaker)		
	Mayor)				
8.	Menyatso KJ (Absent)	19	Vacant		
9.	Mkhusane NC	20.	Tlhone ML (Written Apology)		
10.	Molefi MJ	21.	Tsubane ME		
11.	Motshabi MP	22.	Vanga NM		
	WA	ARD			
23.	Dali VN	38.	Morris VR		
24.	Khalipha TD (Absent)	39.	Mosala MS		
25.	Mabote TL	40.	Mothege MA		
26.	Madumise MM	41.	Mphikeleli MA		
27.	Makgowe PV	42.	Ntlele KI		
28.	Masienyane MD	43.	Phetise ME		
29.	Mbambo AX	44.	Qwesha GL		
30.	Mfebe MSE	45.	Riet MI (Written Apology)		
31.	Mokausi LC (Written Apology)	46.	Sifatya Z		
32.	Mokhomo HA	47.	Taliwe FE		
33.	Molelekoa PA	48.	Thateng MJ (Absent)		
34.	Molelekoa PMI	49.	Thelingoane TJ		
35.	Molete TN	50.	Tlake KR		
36.	Molupe RT	51.	Tsatsa SJ		
37.	Monjovo NE	52.	Tsubella KS		

DA

	PROPORTIONAL				
53.	Banyane ME	58.	Marais JS		
54.	Beneke R	59.	Mholo PP (Absent)		
55.	Botha PF (Absent)	60.	Mlangeni MG		
56.	Fanie D	61.	Mokotedi TG (Written Apology)		
57.	Fourie JJC (Written Apology)	62.	Styger A (Absent)		
WARD					
63.	De Villiers MT (Written Apology)	66.	Smit DC (Written Apology)		
64.	Meyer KL	67.	Van Rooyen MS		
65.	Naude HJ	68.	Van Schalkwyk HCT (Absent)		

COPE

PROPORTIONAL				
69.	Matlebe MM	71.	Thoabala TE	
70.	May FG			

FF+

PROPORTIONAL		
72.	Taljaard SDM	

OFFICIALS

Mr G Ramathebane	:	Municipal Manager
Mr S Makhubu	:	Executive Director Strategic Support Services
Mr M Atolo	:	Acting Executive Director Corporate Support
		Services
Mr M Besani	:	Executive Director Infrastructure
Mr E Motheoane	:	Acting Executive Director Social Services and Law
		Enforcement
Mr JKF Jankowitz	:	Council Administration

SECTION A

1. **OPENING**

The Speaker welcomed everybody present and declared the meeting open.

2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

The Speaker informed Council that two former Councillors, namely Messrs BA Montshioa and MM Matsubukanye had passed away.

A moment of silence was observed.

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

5. MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

SA11/2011

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Speaker conveyed his Christmas wishes to all Councillors and their families.

7. CLOSURE

The Speaker ended the meeting at 15:35.

B STOFILE (SPEAKER)

DATE

IV

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA11/2011	DEMARCATION REPORT (ADCSS) (18/1/1)	1

1

//Cllr PV Makgowe was unanimously appointed to chair the meeting in order to allow the Speaker to present the item.//

SA11/2011

DEMARCATION REPORT (ADCSS) (18/1/1)

PURPOSE

To present to Council to enable Council to make a recommendation to the Demarcation Board on the proposed delimitation of wards.

DISCUSSIONS

Cllr B Stofile presented the item.

It was requested that the Municipal Manager informs residents about service delivery in Matjhabeng after an audit of all units had been done.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (13 DECEMBER 2011)

- 1. That Council **ACCEPTS** the reasons given for opposing the envisaged municipality (proposed Tikwe Municipality).
- 2. That Council **DELEGATES** the Municipal Manager to submit this information on specified forms of the MDB.
- 3. That Council **DELEGATES** the Municipal Manager to ensure that the information reaches the MDB offices before the lapse of the deadline, 15 December 2011.