MINUTES

of the

6th SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2012

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

TUESDAY, 9 OCTOBER 2012

at

15:00

COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: 6^{TH} SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES: 9 OCTOBER 2012

ANC

	PROPORTIONAL			
Ngangelizwe S (Executive Mayor) 12. Petleki KI				
2.	Chaka CP	13.	Radebe MC	
3.	Kotzee D (Written Apology)	14.	Radebe ML	
4.	Mafa DM	15.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)	
5.	Mafongosi ZV	16.	Speelman NW (Written Apology)	
6.	Mbana MA (Absent)	17	Stofile B (Speaker)	
7.	Menyatso KJ	18	Tlhone ML	
8.	Mkhusane NC	19	Tsubane ME	
9.	Molefi MJ	20.	Twanana M	
10.	Motshabi MP	21.	Vanga NM	
11.	Ntsebeng MH (Absent)	22.	Van Rooyen KV	
	WA	ARD		
23.	Dali VN	38.	Morris VR	
24.	Khalipha TD	39.	Mosala MS	
25.	Mabote TL	40.	Mothege MA	
26.	Madumise MM	41.	Mphikeleli MA	
27.	Makgowe PV (Absent)	42.	Ntlele KI	
28.	Masienyane MD	43.	Phetise ME	
29.	Mbambo AX	44.	Qwesha GL (Written Apology)	
30.	Mfebe MSE	45.	Riet MI	
31.	Mokausi LC (Absent)	46.	Sifatya Z (Written Apology)	
32.	Mokhomo HA	47.	Taliwe FE (Absent)	
33.	Molelekoa PA (Written Apology)	48.	Thateng MJ	
34.	Molelekoa PMI	49.	Thelingoane TJ	
35.	Molete TN	50.	Tlake KR (Absent)	
36.	Molupe RT	51.	Tsatsa SJ	
37.	Monjovo NE	52.	Tsubella KS	

DA

PROPORTIONAL			
53.	Banyane ME (Written Apology)	58.	Marais JS
54.	Badenhorst MJ	59.	Mholo PP (Absent)
55.	Botha PF	60.	Mlangeni MG
56.	Fanie D (Written Apology)	61.	Mokotedi TG
57.	Fourie JJC (Written Apology)	62.	Styger A (Written Apology)
WARD			
63.	De Villiers MT	66.	Smit DC
64.	Beneke R	67.	Van Rooyen MS
65.	Naude HJ	68.	Van Schalkwyk HCT

COPE

	PROPORTIONAL				
69.	Matlebe MM	71.	Thoabala TE		
70.	May FG				

FF+

PROPORTIONAL		
72.	Taljaard SDM	

OFFICIALS

Mr X Msweli

Acting Municipal Manager Executive Director Social Services & Law Ms M Mogopodi

Enforcement

Acting Snr Manager Human Resources Snr Admin Officer (Corporate Services) Mr MP Matsie Mr JKF Jankowitz

1.	OPENING
	The Speaker welcomed everybody present and declared the meeting opened.
2.	APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE
	See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II of these minutes.
3.	OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER
	None
4.	DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST
	None
5.	MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION
	SA13/2012
6.	ANNOUNCEMENTS
	The Speaker thanked Cllr ZV Mafongosi for a job well done as Chairperson of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee.
7.	CLOSURE
	The Speaker ended the meeting at 20:15.

CLLR B STOFILE (SPEAKER)

DATE

INDEX

ITEM	ITEM DESCRIPTION		
SA13/2012	RESIGNATION OF THE CHAIRPERSON OF THE	1	
	MUNICIPAL PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (MPAC)		
	AND OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS (4/1/2/2) (Office of the		
	Speaker)		

//Cllr MI Riet was unanimously appointed to chair the meeting in order to enable the Speaker to present his item.//

SA13/2012

RESIGNATION OF THE CHAIRPERSON OF THE MUNICIPAL PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (MPAC) AND OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS (4/1/2/2) (Office of the Speaker)

PURPOSE

To submit to Council the resignation of the Chairperson of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee and other committee members.

DISCUSSIONS

Cllr B Stofile presented the item to Council.

After lengthy discussions and various caucuses

COUNCIL RESOLVED (9 OCTOBER 2012)

- 1. That Council **ONLY ACCEPTS** the resignation of the Chairperson of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee, Cllr ZV Mafongosi.
- 2. That Councillor MP Motshabi **BE APPOINTED** as full-time Chairperson of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee, subject to the approval by the MEC: Cooperative Governance, Tradition Affairs and Human Settlements.
- 3. That the Chairperson of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee **BE REMUNERATED** at the same level as the Council Whip/Members of the Mayoral Committee.
- 4. That the Speaker **SUBMITS**, at the next Council meeting, a comprehensive item on the restructuring and appointment of other members of the Municipal Public Accounts Committee.