MINUTES

CONTINUATION OF THE 3rd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

30 SEPTEMBER 2004

at

16:00

COUNCILLORS PRESENT: CONTINUATION OF THE 3rd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING: 30 SEPTEMBER 2004

ANC

	PROPORTIONAL					
1.						
2.	Matsepe TV (Speaker)	16.	Mafantire JM			
3.	Khalipa TD	17.	Mafongosi VZ			
4.	Menong KS	18.	Mashinini NL			
5.	Ramaisa KA	19.	Alexander RR			
6.	Tladi RE	20.	Radebe ML			
7.	Thuthani ZA	21.	Sephiri MJ			
8.	Matosa AN	22.	Tihone ML			
9.	Matlabe MMT	23.	Vanga M			
10.	Mbana MA	24.	Kotzee D			
11.	Mokhathi PE	25.	Masoleng NI			
12.	Bengu VV	26.	Kujoana MA			
13.	Dali VN	27.	Motshabi MP			
14.	14. Dlova TW					
	W	ARD				
28.	Matsubukanye MM (Absent)	43.	Mfebe MSE			
29.	Tshabangu SE	44.	Mhlaba N			
30.	Mohlodi PP (Absent)	45.	Mokolutlo LA			
31.	Mogole RR	46.	Montshioa BA			
32.	Liphoko SJ (Absent)	47.	Mosala MS			
33.	Mokoena ME	48.	Nakwa TA			
34.	Masienyane MD (Absent)	49.	Ngangelizwe S			
35.	Baaitjies M	50.	Radebe LLF			
36.	Dassie YS	51.	Ramojela JN			
37.	Dlamini SC	52.	Rubulana L			
38.	James TH (Apology)	53.	Seboholi CP (Absent)			
39.	Tsubane ME	54.	Taliwe FE			
40.	Mabuya FF	55.	Thoabala TE			
41.	Manzana NR	56.	Tsoene TD			
42.	Masoka NL	57.	Tsatsa SJ			

DA

PROPORTIONAL						
58.	Fourie JJC	62.	Maqena AM (Apology)			
59.	Marais (Dr) JS (Absent)	63.	Ntsala MM (Absent)			
60.	Auret IH (Absent)	64.	Olivier JJ			
61.	Neumann VH	65.	Styger A			
WARD						
66.	Bothma B (Apology)	69.	Edeling JH			
67.	Louw ML (Absent)	70.	Van Rooyen HC			
68.	Smit DC	71.	Du Toit JJB			

PAC

PROPORTIONAL				
72.	Majoe TS (Absent)			

OFFICIALS

Mr RSB Sesele – Municipal Manager

Mr JG Maritz – Acting Executive Manager : Corporate

Services

Mr TA Jonas - Manager: Integrated Development Planning

Mr NJ Motseki - Executive Manager: Public Safety and

Transport

Mr J Jankowitz - Administrative Officer Mr D Mana - Corporate Services

1. OPENING

The Speaker welcomed everybody present and afforded Dr B Joubert and Pastor Tromp to open the meeting with Scripture reading and a prayer.

APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Attendance List.

MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

The Speaker indicated that the item on the election of Local Council Representation to District Councils needs to be addressed and in terms of the Municipal Structures Act he vacate the Chair and handed the proceedings over to the MEO.

4.	CLOSING	
	The Speaker adjourned the meeting at 17:30.	
TV N	IATSEPE (SPEAKER)	DATE

SA16/2004

<u>IMPLEMENTING THE FLOOR-CROSSING LEGISLATION</u>: (3/1/1) (M:SS) (Office of the Speaker) (P1 : ANNEXURE P 1 – 4)

PURPOSE

To conduct the election of representatives of Matjhabeng Council to the District Municipality of Lejweleputswa.

The MEO explained the proceedings to the Council whereafter he clarified issues raised by Councillors.

The MEO indicated that the IEC requested that parties and Councillors be requested that at least 50% of candidates must be women, although the IEC could not enforce it.

The MEO indicated that he received the parties' nomination lists and he called the names in the following order and requested each nominee to indicate if they accept the nomination and the nomination form was signed.

The following nominations were received:

DA

Cllr DC Smit

Cllr IH Auret

Cllr A Styger

Cllr AM MAgena

ANC

Cllr TD Khalipha

Cllr NL Masoka

Cllr D Kotzee

Cllr ML Tlhone

Cllr TW Dlova

Cllr MI Ikaneng

Cllr RR Mogole

Cllr SL Dlamini

Cllr MA Mbana

Cllr VZ Mafongosi

Cllr RE Tladi

Cllr RR Alexander

Cllr SJ Tsatsa

Cllr M Vanga

Clr JM Mafantire

The MEO handed the proceedings over to Members of the IEC to explain the further proceedings to Councillors whereafter they were afforded the opportunity to cast their votes.

After the calculation of votes the MEO submitted the outcome which was as follows:

Number of votes cast and accepted 57
Spoilt papers 3
Votes received: DA 8 (3 seats)
ANC 49 (12 seats)

The MEO indicated that the names of the elected representatives would be handed to the Municipal Manager to convey it to the Municipal Manager of the District Municipality.

//The Speaker, Cllr TV Matsepe took the Chair and continued with the meeting.//

IT WAS RESOLVED (30 SEPTEMBER 2004)

That Council **ACCEPTS** the outcome of the elections as held by the IEC.

SA17/2004

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY: DESIGNATION OF THE WHIP OF COUNCIL (3/1/B) (MCA) (Office of the Speaker) (P3)

PURPOSE

To submit the above-mentioned matter to Council following a resolution previously taken in this regard.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (30 SEPTEMBER 2004)

That the item **BE REFERRED** to the ordinary Council meeting to be held on 5 October 2004 at 16:00.

<u>INDEX</u>

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA16/2004	IMPLEMENTING THE FLOOR-CROSSING LEGISLATION: (3/1/1) (M:SS) (Office of the Speaker)	1
SA17/2004	MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY: DESIGNATION OF THE WHIP OF COUNCIL (3/1/B) (MCA) (Office of the Speaker)	2