Minutes

MINUTES

INAUGURAL MEETING

of the

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

14 MARCH 2006

at

10:00

COUNCILLORS PRESENT : INAUGURATION MEETING : 14 MARCH 2006

ANC

PROPORTIONAL				
1.	NS Mokapo (Executive Mayor)	14	Tlhone ML	
2.	Khalipha TD	15.	Speelman NW	
3.	Mfana MH	16.	Ramaisa KA	
4.	Tladi RE	17.	Matosa AN	
5.	Thuthani ZA	18.	Qabela V	
6.	Radebe ML	19.	Baaitjies M	
7.	Masoka NL	20.	Dlova TW	
8.	Petleki KI	21.	Vanga NM	
9.	Sephiri MJ (Council Whip)	22.	Matlable MMT	
10.	Tsubane E	23.	Senoge MM	
11.	Thoabala TE	24.	Mogopodi MRE	
12.	Humphries MF	25.	Molefi JM	
13	Nyembe ME	26.	Twanana M	
		VARD		
27.	Mahloko NM	43.	Mankayi NE	
28.	Ntsala ST	44.	Motshabi MP	
29.	Mokobori KE	45.	Dlamini SC	
30.	Peterson E	46.	Mokhuma MS	
31.	Mathebula MA	47.	Mkhusane NC	
32.	Monjovo NE	48.	Mphikeleli MA	
33.	Masienyane MD	49.	Moahloli MS	
34.	Mfebe MSE	50.	Tsatsa SJ	
35.	Kotzee AP	51.	Montshioa BA	
36.	Rubulana L (Speaker)	52.	Taliwe FE	
37.	Nakwa AN	53.	Semela ME	
38.	Sejane LM	54.	Sebeela SD	
39.	Sithole B	55.	Radebe LLF	
40.	Thembani PP	56	Manzana NR	
41.	Majwede MC	57.	Mokapo TJ	
42.	Makgowe PV			

DA

PROPORTIONAL				
58.	Marais JS	62.	Mokoteli TG	
59.	Neumann VH	63.	Mhlafu BD	
60.	Styger A	64.	Edeling JH	
61.	Fourie JJC			
WARD				
65.	Smit DC	67.	Van Rooyen HC (Absent)	
66.	Beneke R	68.	Botha PF	

AFRICAN CHRISTIAN DEMOCRATIC PARTY

		PROPORTIONAL
69.	Mofoka MA	

INDEPENDENT

70. Liphoko SJ

PAC

PROPORTIONAL

WARD

71. Majoe TS

FREEDOM FRONT PLUS

	WARD
72.	BJA Coetzee

OFFICIALS

Mr NJ Motseki	-	Acting Municipal Manager				
Mr R Spies	-	Corporate Executive Manager: Engineering				
		Services				
Mr RN Pitso	-	Chief Financial Officer				
Mr S Naniso	-	Acting Executive Manager: Corporate Services				
Mr LP Motseki	-	Manager: Administrative Support Services and				
		Policy (Office of the Executive Mayor)				
Mr TR Shiringani	-	Manager: Council Administration				
Mr TM Ngesi	-	Executive Manager: Housing Development and				
		Environmental Management				
Mr S Makhasi	-	Executive Manager: Human Resources				
Mr MP Matsie	-	Manager Organisation and Efficiency Study				
Mr SA Moshodi	-	Manager: Administration (Office of the				
		Municipal Manager)				
Mr RJ Skosana	-	Acting: IDP Manager				
Mr TB Jobo	-	Senior Communication Officer				
Mr MK Sobayeni	-	Municipal Electoral Officer				
Mr SD Mana	-	Caretaker (Corporate Services)				
Dr K van der Walt	-	Executive Manager: Economic Development and				
		Spatial Planning				
Ms P de Blom	-	Communication Officer (Office of the Executive				
		Mayor)				
Ms DF Ramakhale	-	Administrative Officer				

1. **OPENING**

Pastor SM Ngcizela opened the meeting with Scripture reading and a prayer.

APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Attendance List above.

PURPOSE OF THE MEETING AND EXPLANATION OF THE PROCEEDINGS

The Acting Municipal Manager highlighted the purpose and explained the proceedings of the meeting.

// At 10:38 the ANC requested the adjournment of the meeting so that they can deal with outstanding matters from their caucus.

Councillor (Dr) JS Marais and Councillor A Styger objected whereupon the Acting Municipal Manager granted the adjournment after having consulted the applicable Standing Rules and Orders of the Council.

The meeting proceeded at 11:22 //

TAKING OF THE OATH OF OFFICE BY COUNCILLORS

The Chief Magistrate of Welkom, Me A. Motlekar, administered the taking of the oath by all Councillors.

ELECTION OF THE SPEAKER

IA1/2006

6. ELECTION OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MUNICIPALITY IN THE LEJWELEPUTSWA DISTRICT COUNCIL

IA3/2006

7. APPOINTMENT OF A FULL-TIME COUNCIL WHIP (3/8/1/3) (AEMCS)

IA6/2006

8. MOTION OF CONGRATULATIONS FROM THE ACTING MUNICIPAL MANAGER

The Acting Municipal Manager congratulated the Speaker on his election.

9. MOTIONS OF CONGRATULATIONS FROM OTHER COUNCILLORS

A Councillor from each political party represented in the Municipality of Matjhabeng, congratulated the Speaker on his election.

10. TAKING THE CHAIR BY THE SPEAKER AND ACCEPTANCE SPEECH

The Acting Municipal Manager handed over the Chair to the newly elected Speaker Councillor L Rubulana to proceed whereafter the Speaker delivered a speech in acceptance of his election as the Speaker of Matjhabeng.

11. CLOSURE

The meeting terminated at **16:00**.

(SPEAKER)

DATE

INDEX

		PAGE
ELECTION OF THE SPEAKER (4/1/2/1) (AEMCS)	Effective Governance	1
ELECTION OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MUNICIPALITY IN THE LEJWELEPUTSWA DISTRICT COUNCIL (4/1/2/2) (AEMCS)	Effective Governance	1
APPOINTMENT OF A FULL-TIME COUNCIL WHIP (3/8/1/3) (MCA) (OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER)	Effective Governance	2
(]] ((AEMCS) ELECTION OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MUNICIPALITY IN THE LEJWELEPUTSWA DISTRICT COUNCIL (4/1/2/2) (AEMCS) APPOINTMENT OF A FULL-TIME COUNCIL WHIP (3/8/1/3) (MCA) (OFFICE OF THE	AEMCS)ELECTION OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MUNICIPALITY IN THE LEJWELEPUTSWA DISTRICT COUNCIL (4/1/2/2) (AEMCS)Effective GovernanceAPPOINTMENT OF A FULL-TIME COUNCIL WHIP (3/8/1/3) (MCA) (OFFICE OF THEEffective Governance

IA1/2006

ELECTION OF THE SPEAKER (4/1/2/1) (AEMCS)

PURPOSE

To submit the item in order to enable Council to elect a Speaker.

The Acting Municipal Manager requested proposals for nominations of Councillors for election of the Speaker.

Councillor BA Montshioa proposed the name of Councillor L Rubulana and seconded by Councillor MJ Sephiri.

Councillor PF Botha proposed the name of Councillor A Styger seconded by Councillor (Dr) JS Marais.

The votes were as follows:

Councillor L Rubulana from	-	ANC	=	59
Councillor A Styger from	-	DA	=	11

COUNCIL RESOLVED (14 MARCH 2006)

That Councillor L Rubulana **BE ELECTED** as the Speaker for the Matjhabeng Municipality in terms of Section 36(1) of the Municipal Structures Act 1998 (Act Number 117 of 1998).

IA3/2006

ELECTION OF THE REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MUNICIPALITY IN THE LEJWELEPUTSWA DISTRICT COUNCIL (4/1/2/2) (AEMCS)

PURPOSE

To submit a report to Council on the election of representatives in the Lejweleputswa District Council.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (14 MARCH 2006)

1. That the election of representatives of the Matjhabeng Municipality in the Lejweleputswa District Council **BE** as follows:

Pan Africanist Congress list	=	0
Democratic Alliance list	=	2
African National Congress list	=	13
Freedom Front Plus	=	0
Democratic Party	=	0

2. That the Council **APPOINTS** its representatives on the Lejweleputswa District Council.

IA6/2006

<u>APPOINTMENT OF A FULL-TIME COUNCIL WHIP</u> (3/8/1/3) (MCA) (OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER)

PURPOSE

For Council, subject to approval by the MEC for Local Government Free State, to appoint a full-time Whip.

The Speaker requested proposals for nominations of Councillors for election of Council Whip.

The following names were proposed:

Councillor MMT Matlabe proposed the name of Councillor MJ Sephiri seconded by Councillor PF Botha with the following votes:

Councillor MJ Sephiri	-	ANC =	57
Councillor VH Neumann	-	DA =	11

COUNCIL RESOLVED (14 MARCH 2006)

- 1. That the Council **APPOINTS** Councillor MJ Sephiri as full-time Council Whip subject to the approval by the MEC for Housing and Local Government in the Free State.
- 2. That the Office of the Speaker **MUST ENSURE** that the Council Whip's office is supplied with the adequate human and financial resources to enable it to perform its functions effectively and efficiently.