MINUTES

INAUGURAL MEETING

of the

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

17 MARCH 2006

at

10:00

COUNCILLORS PRESENT : INAUGURATION MEETING : 17 MARCH 2006

ANC

PROPORTIONAL			
1.	NS Mokapo (Executive Mayor)	14	Tlhone ML (Written apology)
2.	Khalipha TD	15.	Speelman NW
3.	Mfana MH	16.	Ramaisa KA
4.	Tladi RE	17.	Matosa AN
5.	Thuthani ZA	18.	Qabela V
6.	Radebe ML	19.	Baaitjies M
7.	Masoka NL	20.	Dlova TW
8.	Petleki KI	21.	Vanga NM
9.	Sephiri MJ (Council Whip)	22.	Matlable MMT
10.	Tsubane E	23.	Senoge MM
11.	Thoabala TE	24.	Mogopodi MRE
12.	Humphries MF	25.	Molefi JM
13	Nyembe ME	26.	Twanana M
		VARD	
27.	Mahloko NM	43.	Mankayi NE
28.	Ntsala ST	44.	Motshabi MP
29.	Mokobori KE	45.	Dlamini SC
30.	Peterson E	46.	Mokhuma MS
31.	Mathebula MA	47.	Mkhusane NC
32.	Monjovo NE	48.	Mphikeleli MA
33.	Masienyane MD	49.	Moahloli MS
34.	Mfebe MSE	50.	Tsatsa SJ
35.	Kotzee AP	51.	Montshioa BA
36.	Rubulana L (Speaker)	52.	Taliwe FE
37.	Nakwa AN	53.	Semela ME
38.	Sejane LM	54.	Sebeela SD
39.	Sithole B	55.	Radebe LLF
40.	Thembani PP	56	Manzana NR
41.	Majwede MC	57.	Mokapo TJ
42.	Makgowe PV		

DA

PROPORTIONAL				
58.	Marais JS	62.	Mokoteli TG	
59.	Neumann VH	63.	Mhlafu BD	
60.	Styger A	64.	Edeling JH	
61.	Fourie JJC			
WARD				
65.	Smit DC	67.	Van Rooyen HC	
66.	Beneke R	68.	Botha PF (Written apology)	

AFRICAN CHRISTIAN DEMOCRATIC PARTY

69.	Mofoka MA

PROPORTIONAL

INDEPENDENT

 WARD

 70.
 Liphoko SJ (Absent)

PAC

71. Majoe TS

PROPORTIONAL

WARD

FREEDOM FRONT PLUS

72.	BJA Coetzee

OFFICIALS

Mr NJ Motseki	-	Acting Municipal Manager
Mr R Spies	-	Corporate Executive Manager: Engineering
		Services
Mr V Adonis	-	Corporate Executive Manager: Community
		Services and Social Development
Mr RN Pitso	-	Chief Financial Officer
Mr S Naniso	-	Acting Executive Manager: Corporate Services
Mr LP Motseki	-	Manager: Administrative Support Services and
		Policy (Office of the Executive Mayor)
Mr TR Shiringani	-	Manager: Council Administration
Mr TM Ngesi	-	Executive Manager: Housing Development and
		Environmental Management
Mr S Makhasi	-	Executive Manager: Human Resources
Mr LJ Leeto	-	Acting Executive Manager: Public Safety and
		Transport
Mr SA Moshodi	-	Manager: Administration (Office of the
		Municipal Manager)
Mr RJ Skosana	-	Acting: IDP Manager
Mr TB Jobo	-	Senior Communication Officer
Mr SD Mana	-	Caretaker (Corporate Services)
Dr K van der Walt	-	Executive Manager: Economic Development and
		Spatial Planning
Ms P de Blom	-	Communication Officer (Office of the Executive
		Mayor)
Ms DF Ramakhale	-	Administrative Officer

1. **OPENING**

The Speaker declared the meeting officially open and welcomed everybody present.

APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Attendance List above.

TAKING OF THE OATH OF OFFICE BY COUNCILLORS

The Acting Municipal Manager of Matjhabeng Municipality (Mr NJ Motseki) administered the taking of the oath by following Councillors:

NS Mokapo and HC van Rooyen

4. ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR

IA2/2006

5. MOTION OF CONGRATULATIONS FROM OTHER COUNCILLORS

A Councillor from each political party represented in the Municipality of Matjhabeng, congratulated the Executive Mayor on her election.

6. ACCEPTANCE SPEECH BY THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR

The Speaker handed over to the newly elected Executive Mayor Councillor NS Mokapo to deliver a speech in acceptance of her election as the Executive Mayor of Matjhabeng.

7. MOTION OF CONGRATULATIONS FROM THE SPEAKER

The Speaker congratulated the Executive Mayor on her election.

8. SALARIES, ALLOWANCES AND BENEFITS OF DIFFERENT MEMBERS OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL

IA4/2006

9. SCHEDULE: COUNCIL MEETINGS FOR 2006

IA5/2006

10. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

10.1 The Speaker announced the following:

10.1.1 That Councillor MM Senoge lost her brother in Phomolong. A moment of silence was observed.

10.1.2 Photo Session

That Councillors are invited for a photo session at the area between the Theatre and the Ferdi Meyer Hall.

10.1.3 Councillors Particulars

That Councillors who have not provided particulars on the prescribed form must submit the forms as a matter of urgency.

11. APPOINTMENT OF A FULL-TIME COUNCIL WHIP

IA6/2006

12. CLOSURE

The Speaker adjourned the meeting at **11:06**.

(SPEAKER)

DATE

INDEX

ITEM	CLASSIFICATION	PAGE
ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR (4/1/2/1) (AEMCS)	Effective Governance	1
SALARIES, ALLOWANCES AND BENEFITS OF DIFFERENT MEMBERS OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL (6/6/2) (CFO)	Effective Governance	1
SCHEDULE: COUNCIL MEETINGS FOR 2006 (3/1/3/1) (AEMCS)	Effective Governance	2
	ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR (4/1/2/1) (AEMCS) SALARIES, ALLOWANCES AND BENEFITS OF DIFFERENT MEMBERS OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL (6/6/2) (CFO)	ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR (4/1/2/1) (AEMCS)Effective GovernanceSALARIES, ALLOWANCES AND BENEFITS OF DIFFERENT MEMBERS OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL (6/6/2) (CFO)Effective GovernanceSCHEDULE: COUNCIL MEETINGS FOR 2006Effective Governance

IA2/2006

ELECTION OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR (4/1/2/1) (AEMCS)

PURPOSES

To submit an item to Council in order to enable Councillors to elect an Executive Mayor.

Before the item was entertained the Speaker requested the adjournment of the meeting for Friday, 17 March 2006 at 10:00.

The Speaker requested proposals for nominations of Councillors for election of the Executive Mayor.

Councillor N Masoka proposed the name of Councillor NS Mokapo and seconded by Councillor ML Radebe.

Councillor VH Neumann proposed the name of Councillor (Dr) JS Marais seconded by Councillor A Styger.

The votes were as follows:

Councillor NS Mokapo from ANC	=	55
Councillor (Dr) JS Marais from DA	=	12

COUNCIL RESOLVED (17 MARCH 2006)

That Councillor NS Mokapo **BE ELECTED** as Executive Mayor of Matjhabeng Municipality in terms of Section 55(1) of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act 1998 (Act Number 117 of 1998) as well as Rules 118 to 121 of the Standard Rules and Orders, as promulgated.

IA4/2006

SALARIES, ALLOWANCES AND BENEFITS OF DIFFERENT MEMBERS OF THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL (6/6/2) (CFO)

PURPOSE

To inform Council on the upper limits of salaries, allowances and benefits of different members of a municipal council as per Government Gazette No 28231, dated 14 November 2005 as approved on 29 November 2005, Item A93/2005.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (17 MARCH 2006)

That the upper limits of salaries, allowances and benefits of different members of the municipal Council **BE IMPLEMENTED** with effect from 1 July 2005, according to Government Gazette No 28231 dated 14 November 2005.

IA5/2006

SCHEDULE: COUNCIL MEETINGS FOR 2006 (3/1/3/1) (AEMCS)

PURPOSE

To submit the proposed schedule of Council meetings for 2006 to Council for consideration.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (17 MARCH 2006)

1. That Council **APPROVES** the proposed under-mentioned schedule of meetings for 2006:

MONTH	DATE	DAY	TIME	CLOSING DATE AND TIME FOR SUBMISSION OF
				ITEMS
April	18	Tuesday	16:00	4 April 2006 at 12:00
May	30	Tuesday	16:00	16 May 2006 at 12:00
June	27	Tuesday	16:00	13 June 2006 at 12:00
July	25	Tuesday	16:00	11 July 2006 at 12:00
August	29	Tuesday	16:00	15 August 2006 at 12:00
September	26	Tuesday	16:00	12 September 2006 at 12:00
October	31	Tuesday	16:00	17 October 2006 at 12:00
November	28	Tuesday	16:00	14 November 2006 at 12:00

2. That Speaker **SHOULD DETERMINE** the date of the next meeting and time to be 16:00.