MINUTES

6TH SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

14 OCTOBER 2005

at

14:00

COUNCILLORS PRESENT : 6^{TH} SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING : 14 OCTOBER 2005

ANC

PROPORTIONAL				
1.	Leeuw SJ (Executive Mayor)	15.	Ikaneng MI	
	(Absent)		, and the second	
2.	Matsepe TV (Speaker)	16.	Mafantire MJ (Written apology)	
3.	Tsubane ME	17.	Mafongosi VZ (Absent)	
4.	Menong KS (MMC) (Absent)	18.	Mashinini NL (Written apology)	
5.	Ramaisa KA (MMC)	19.	Petleki KI	
6.	Tladi RE (MMC)	20.	Radebe ML	
7.	Thuthani ZA (MMC)	21.	Sephiri MJ	
8.	Matosa AN	22.	Tihone ML	
9.	Matlabe MMT	23.	Vanga M	
10.	Mbana MA	24.	Kotzee D	
11.	Mokhathi PE	25.	Masoleng NI	
12.	Bengu VV	26.	Kujoana MA (Absent)	
13	Dali VN	27.	Motshabi MP (Written apology)	
14.	Dlova TW (Written apology)			
	V	VARD		
28.		43.	Mfebe MSE	
29.		44.	Mhlaba N	
30.	Mohloli PP (Absent)	45.	Mokolutlo LA	
31.	Mogole RR	46.	Montshioa BA (MMC)	
32.	Liphoko SJ (Absent)	47.	Mosala MS	
33.	Mokoena ME (Absent)	48.	Nakwa TA	
34.	Masienyane MD	49.	Ngangelizwe S	
35.	Baaitjies M	50.	Radebe LLF (Absent)	
36.	Dassie YS	51.	Ramojela JN (Absent)	
37.	Dlamini SC	52.	Rubulana L	
38.	James TH	53.	Seboholi CP	
39.	Khalipha TD (MMC)	54.	Taliwe FE (Absent)	
40.	Mabuya FF (Absent)	55.	Thoabala TE (MMC)	
41.	Manzana NR	56.	Tsoene TD	
42.	Masoka NL (Written apology)	57.	Tsatsa SJ	

DA

PROPORTIONAL						
58.	Fourie JJC (Absent)	62.	Maqena AM			
59.	Marais (Dr) JS (Absent)	63.	Ntsala MM			
60.	Auret IH (Absent)	64.	Olivier JJ (Written apology)			
61.	Neumann VH	65.	Styger A (Absent)			
WARD						
66.	Bothma B (Written apology)	69.	Edeling JH			
67.	Louw ML	70.	Van Rooyen HC			
68.	Smit DC (Absent)	71.	Du Toit JJB			

PAC

PROPORTIONAL				
72.	Majoe TS			

OFFICIALS

Mr JN Motseki - Acting Municipal Manager

Mr TR Shiringani - Acting Executive Manager: Corporate

Services

Mr SD Mana - Corporate Services
Me DF Ramakhale - Administrative Officer

1. OPENING

Cllr N Mhlaba opened the meeting with Scripture reading and a prayer.

APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Attendance List above.

OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

None

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

6. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

The Acting Municipal Manager presented Item SA31/2005, which was discussed and the resolution in this regard is on page **1** of the minutes.

7. CLOSURE

The meeting terminated at 14:33.

TV MATSEPE (SPEAKER)	DATE

SA31/2005

NOTICE OF RESIGNATION OF THE SPEAKER AS A COUNCILLOR AND APPOINTMENT OF A NEW SPEAKER (AEMCS) (8/3/1/1)

PURPOSE

To inform Council of the resignation of Cllr TV Matsepe as Councillor and for Council to appoint a new Speaker.

The Acting Municipal Manager requested nomination for the appointment of a new Speaker.

Cllr S Ngangelizwe nominated Cllr L Rubulana and it was seconded by Cllr TD Khalipha.

IT WAS RESOLVED BY COUNCIL (14 OCTOBER 2005)

That Cllr L Rubulana unanimously **BE APPOINTED** as Speaker for Matjhabeng Municipality.

The Acting Executive Mayor, Cllr KA Ramaisa congratulated Cllr L Rubulana for being elected as Speaker of Matjhabeng. The DA, PAC and ANC congratulated the newly elected Speaker.

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	CLASSIFICATION	PAGE
SA31/2005	NOTICE OF RESIGNATION OF THE SPEAKER AS A COUNCILLOR AND APPOINTMENT OF A NEW SPEAKER (AEMCS) (3/8/1/1)	Effective Governance	1