MINUTES

3rd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

of

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY

held on

23 SEPTEMBER 2004

at

16:00

COUNCILLORS PRESENT: 3rd SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING: 23 SEPTEMBER 2004

ANC

PROPORTIONAL					
1.	Leeuw SJ (Executive Mayor)	14.	Dlova TW		
2.	Matsepe TV (Speaker)	15.	Ikaneng MI		
3.	Khalipa TD	16.	Mafantire JM (Written apology)		
4.	Menong KS	17.	Mafongosi VZ		
5.	Ramaisa KA	18.	Mashinini NL (Absent)		
6.	Tladi RE (Written apology)	19.	Alexander RR		
7.	Thuthani ZA	20.	Radebe ML		
8.	Matosa AN (Absent)	21.	Sephiri MJ		
9.	Matlabe MMT	22.	Tlhone ML		
10.	Mbana MA	23.	Vanga M (Absent)		
11.	Mokhathi PE (Absent)	24.	Kotzee D (Written apology)		
12.	Bengu VV	25.	Masoleng NI		
13	Dali VN	26.	Kujoana MA		
	W	ARD			
27.	Matsubukanye MM (Absent)	42.	Mfebe MSE (Written apology)		
28.	Tshabangu SE	43.	Mhlaba N		
29.	Mohlodi PP (Absent)	44.	Mokolutlo LA		
30.	Mogole RR (Absent)	45.	Montshioa BA (Written apology)		
31.	Liphoko SJ (Absent)	46.	Mosala MS		
32.	Mokoena ME	47.	Nakwa TA		
33.	Masienyane MD	48.	Ngangelizwe S		
34.	Baaitjies M (Written apology)	49.	Radebe LLF		
35.	Dassie YS	50.	Ramojela JN (Written apology)		
36.	Dlamini SC	51.	Rubulana L		
37.	James TH	52.	Seboholi CP		
38.	Tsubane ME (Written apology)	53.	Taliwe FE		
39.	Mabuya FF	54.	Thoabala TE		
40.	Manzana NR	55.	Tsoene TD (Absent)		
41.	Masoka NL	56.	Tsatsa SJ		

DA

	PROPORTIONAL						
57.	Fourie JJC	61.	Maqena AM				
58.	Marais (Dr) JS	62.	Ntsala MM				
59.	Auret IH	63.	Olivier JJ				
60.	Neumann VH	64.	Styger A (Absent)				
WARD							
65.	Bothma B	68.	Edeling JH				
66.	Louw ML (Absent)	69.	Van Rooyen HC (Written apology)				
67.	Smit DC	70.	Du Toit JJB (Written apology)				

UDM

	PROPORTIONAL
71.	Motshabi MP

PAC

	PROPORTIONAL				
72.	Majoe TS				

OFFICIALS

Mr RSB Sesele	_	Municipal Manager
Mr JG Maritz	_	Acting Executive Manager : Corporate
		Services
Mr V Adonis	-	Corporate Executive Manager: Community
		Services and Social Development
Ms AC Schoeman	-	Administrative Officer
Mr T Jobo	-	Communication Officer

1. OPENING

The Speaker welcomed everybody present and Cllr TE Thoabala opened the meeting with a prayer.

APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Attendance List.

The Speaker mentioned that ClIrs Ramaisa and Mhlaba would be late as they attended the funeral of Mr W Coetzer, Traffic Officer and a motion of sympathy was recorded.

3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

None.

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

MATTERS FOR DISCUSSION

The Speaker presented items SA16/2004 and SA17/2004, which were discussed and the resolutions in this regard are on pages 1 of the minutes.

6. CLOSING

The Speaker adjourned the meeting at **17:30** in terms of Rule 43 of the Rules and Orders.

TV MATSEPE (SPEAKER)

DATE

SA16/2004

<u>IMPLEMENTING THE FLOOR-CROSSING LEGISLATION</u>: (3/1/1) (M:SS) (Office of the Speaker) (P1 : ANNEXURE P 1 – 4)

PURPOSE

To inform Council regarding the floor-crossing that took place in the structure of the Matjhabeng Local Municipality during the 15 day window period that started at 00h01 on 1 September 2004 at ended at 24h00 on 15 September 2004.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (23 SEPTEMBER 2004)

- 1. That Council **ENDORSES** the new constitution of the Council by increasing the ANC membership of 56 to 57.
- 2. That the representation of the UDM in the Council be considered as having ceased.

That the contents of this resolution **BE COMMUNICATED** to the Lejweleputswa District Municipality.

4. That the election for representation of Matjhabeng Councillors in the District Municipality of Lejweleputswa would be conducted at a continuation meeting to be held on Thursday, 30 September 2004 at 16:00.

SA17/2004

MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY: DESIGNATION OF THE WHIP OF COUNCIL (3/1/B) (MCA) (Office of the Speaker) (P3)

PURPOSE

To submit the above-mentioned matter to Council following a resolution previously taken in this regard.

COUNCIL RESOLVED (23 SEPTEMBER 2004)

That this matter **BE REFERRED** to the continuation meeting to be held on 30 September 2004 at 16:00.

INDEX

ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE
SA16/2004	IMPLEMENTING THE FLOOR-CROSSING LEGISLATION: (3/1/1) (M:SS) (Office of the Speaker)	1
SA17/2004	MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY: DESIGN ATION OF THE WHIP OF COUNCIL (3/1/B) (MCA) (Office of the Speaker)	1