# MINUTES

OF THE

4<sup>th</sup> SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2007

of

### **MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY**

held on

**MONDAY, 24 DECEMBER 2007** 

at

10:00

#### **COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: COUNCIL MEETING: 24 DECEMBER 2007**

#### ANC

PROPORTIONAL			
1.	Leeto NS (Executive Mayor)	14.	Radebe ML (MMC)
2.	Baaitjies M (Absent)	15.	Ramaisa KA
3.	Dlova TW (MMC)	16.	Senoge MM
4.	Humphries MF	17.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)
5.	Masoleng NI	18.	Speelman NW (MMC)
6.	Matlabe MMT	19.	Qwesha GL (Absent)
7.	Sentle AN	20.	Thuthani ZA (MMC)
8.	Ntsebeng MH (MMC)	21.	Deceased
9.	ZP Noveld (MMC)	22.	Tlhone ML
10.	Molefi MJ	23.	Tsubane ME
11.	Nyembe ME (Absent)	24.	Twanana M
12.	Petleki KI	25.	Vanga NM
13.	Qabela V (Absent)	26.	TD Khalipha (Absent)
		27.	Majoe TS
	W	ARD	
28.	Dlamini SC (MMC) (Absent)	44.	Montshioa BA (MMC)
29.	Kotzee AP (MMC) (Absent)	45.	Motshabi MP
30.	Mahloko NN	46.	Mphikeleli MA
31.	Majwede MC	47.	Nakwa TA (Absent)
32.	Makgowe PV	48.	Ntsala NS
33.	Mankayi NE	49.	Peterson E
34.	Manzana NR	50.	Radebe LLF
35.	Masienyane MD	51.	Rubulana L (Speaker)
36.	Mathebula MA	52.	Nteo SD
37.	Mfebe MSE	53.	Sejane LM
38.	Mkhusane NC (Apology)	54.	Semela ME
39.	Moahloli MS	55.	Sithole B
40.	Deceased	56.	Taliwe FE
41.	Mokhuma MS	57.	Thembani PP
42.	Mokobori KE	58.	Tsatsa SJ
43	Monjovo NE (Absent)		

#### DA

	PROPORTIONAL			
59.	Edeling JH (Apology)	63.	Mokotedi TG	
60.	Fourie JJ (Apology)	64.	Neumann VH	
61.	Marais JS (Absent)	65.	Styger A (Absent)	
62.	Mhlafu BD (Absent)			
	WARD			
66.	Beneke R (Absent)	68.	Smit DC (Absent)	
67.	Botha PF	69.	Van Rooyen HC (Absent)	

#### FF+

		PROPORTIONAL
70.	Coetzee BJA (Absent)	

#### **ACDP**

PROPORTIONAL			
71.	Mofoka MA		

#### **IND**

	WARD
72.	Liphoko SJ (Absent)

#### **OFFICIALS**

Mr LB de Bruyn Me KR Maloka

Acting Municipal Manager Director Social Services and Law Enforcement

Mr MNS Moletsane

Mr W Sephton

Director Corporate Support Services
Acting Director: Infrastructure
Administrative Officer (Corporate Services) Me A Schoeman

#### **SECTION A**

#### 1. OPENING

Cllr LLF Radebe opened the meeting with singing, scripture reading and a prayer.

#### 2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II

#### OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

The Speaker officially announced that Cllr RE Tladi passed away and a moment of silence was observed.

#### 4. CONDOLENCES

The Speaker allowed the various parties to convey their messages of sympathy in the following order:

Cllr MA Mofoka for the ACDP Cllr VA Neumann for the DP Cllr MJ Sephiri for the ANC

#### 5. SPECIAL COUNCIL ADJOURN

The Executive Mayor proposed that after the meeting, the family of Cllr Tladi be visited at 11:00.

A Memorial service would be held on Wednesday, 26 December 2007 at 12:00 at Thabong Community Centre. The funeral would be on 29 December 2007.

The Speaker thanked everybody present and adjourned the meeting at **10:40** to be continued on Wednesday, 26 December 2007.

L RUBULANA (SPEAKER)	DATE

//The Executive Mayor requested that only Item SA 10/2007 be dealt with as it would also cover Item SA11/2007.//

SA10/2007

## <u>DRAFT GUIDELINES ON CIVIC FUNERALS OF MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY</u> (14/3/3) (MM)

#### **PURPOSE**

To submit to the Council the proposed Draft Guidelines on Civic Funerals for approval.

#### **COUNCIL RESOLVED (24 DECEMBER 2007)**

1. That the Draft Guidelines on Civic Funerals **BE ADOPTED** with the following amendments:

**Introduction:** That the word policy **BE CHANGED** to guidelines.

**Page 2:** That 4.4.1 to 4.4.4 **BE DELETED.** 

Page 2: That 4.2 Second Session BE DELETED.

**Page 2:** That 4.2.1, 4.2.2 and 4.2.3 **BE CHANGED** to 4.1.2, 4.1.3 and 4.1.4.

**Page 2:** That 4.1.1 **BE INCLUDED** as follows: The first session of the funeral will be a special Council meeting where the Roll Call will be done by the Speaker.

2. That the Guidelines on Civic Funerals **BE USED** as a working document until the policy is finalized.