# MINUTES

OF THE

# 2<sup>ND</sup> SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2007

of

## **MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY**

held on

**THURSDAY, 27 SEPTEMBER 2007** 

at

14:00

## **COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: COUNCIL MEETING: 27 SEPTEMBER 2007**

### ANC

PROPORTIONAL				
1.	Leeto NS (Executive Mayor)	14.	Radebe ML (MMC)	
2.	Baaitjies M	15.	Ramaisa KA	
3.	Dlova TW (MMC)	16.	Senoge MM (Absent)	
4.	Humphries MF	17.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)	
5.	Masoleng NI	18.	Speelman NW (MMC)	
6.	Matlabe MMT	19.	Qwesha GL (Absent)	
7.	Sentle AN	20.	Thuthani ZA (MMC)	
8.	Ntsebeng MH (MMC)	21.	Tladi RE (MMC)	
9.	ZP Noveld (MMC)	22.	Tihone ML	
10.	Molefi MJ	23.	Tsubane ME	
11.	Nyembe ME (Absent)	24.	Twanana M	
12.	Petleki KI	25.	Vanga NM	
13.	Qabela V	26.	TD Khalipha	
		27.	Majoe TS	
		ARD		
28.	Dlamini SC ( <b>MMC)</b>	44.	Montshioa BA (MMC)	
29.	Kotzee AP (MMC) (Absent)	45.	Motshabi MP	
30.	Mahloko NN	46.	Mphikeleli MA	
31.	Majwede MC	47.	Nakwa TA	
32.	Makgowe PV	48.	Ntsala NS	
33.	Mankayi NE	49.	Peterson E	
34.	Manzana NR	50.	Radebe LLF	
35.	Masienyane MD	51.	Rubulana L (Speaker)	
36.	Mathebula MA	52.	Nteo SD (Apology)	
37.	Mfebe MSE	53.	Sejane LM	
38.	Mkhusane NC	54.	Semela ME	
39.	Moahloli MS	55.	Sithole B	
40.	Mokapo TJ	56.	Taliwe FE (Absent)	
41.	Mokhuma MS	57.	Thembani PP	
42.	Mokobori KE (Absent)	58.	Tsatsa SJ	
43	Monjovo NE			

#### DA

	PROPORTIONAL				
59.	Edeling JH	63.	Mokotedi TG		
60.	Fourie JJC	64.	Neumann VH		
61.	Marais JS	65.	Styger A (Apology)		
62.	Mhlafu BD (Absent)				
	WARD				
66.	Beneke R	68.	Smit DC (Apology)		
67.	Botha PF	69.	Van Rooyen HC (Apology)		

#### FF+

PROPORTIONAL		
70.	Coetzee BJA (Apology)	

#### **ACDP**

PROPORTIONAL	
71.	Mofoka MA

#### **IND**

		WARD
72.	Liphoko SJ (Apology)	

#### **OFFICIALS**

Municipal Manager
Chief Operations Officer
Director Corporate Support Services
Director Infrastructure Dr B Malakoane Dr L Moorosi

Mr MNS Moletsane

Mr TA Ngozwana

Me KR Maloka Director Social Services and Law Enforcement Me M Finger Administrative Officer (Corporate Services)

#### **SECTION A**

1	0	PF	NI	NG

The Executive Mayor opened the meeting with a hymn and Councillor Dlova prayed.

#### 2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II

#### 3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS OF THE SPEAKER

The Speaker informed Council that the purpose of the meeting was to comply with the law with regard to the floor- crossing and that the IEC representative would explain all the processes.

#### 4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

#### **SECTION B**

_				— —	
<b>F</b>	DEDNOTE NE	THE SPEAKER I	N TEDME OF E	)     EQ 1 <i>E</i> /1\	
IJ.	REPURIS OF	TITE OF LANEN I		IULLO IOLII	AND JJIA

SA6/2007

^	$\sim$ 1	OSI	
6	( .	()51	JRF

L RUBULANA (SPEAKER)	DATE
L RUBULANA (SPEAKEK)	DATE

#### SA6/2007

## <u>IMPLEMENTING THE FLOOR-CROSSING LEGISLATION</u>: (3/1/1) (Office of the Speaker)

#### **PURPOSE**

To inform Council regarding the floor-crossing that took place in the structure of the Matjhabeng Local Municipality during the 15 day window period that started at 00h01 on 1 September 2007 and ended at 24h00 on 15 September 2007.

#### 1. Introduction

IEC Office for Matjhabeng was represented by Mr. Ledimo Nthejane and Mankae Ncheche who administered the 60% DC Elections.

In terms of Schedule 6B of the Constitution of RSA, Item 6(a) a Local Council whose composition has been affected, must apply the procedure provided in national legislation for the appointment of local council representative to the relevant District Council, in addition the election of local council representatives to the DC must occur within 15 days of the close of the window period.

The composition of Matjhabeng Local Council has been affected by crossing of the Floor by Mr. Thupe Simon Majoe for Pan Africanist Congress of Azania to African National Congress.

#### 2. Process and Procedure

#### 2.1 Election requirement

- \* Proportional Representation System
- \* Election takes place on PR basis
- \* Register of seating Councillors
- \* Nomination forms
- \* Quota = Total number of councillors in local council + 1
- \* Number of DC seats the local council is
- \* entitled to

Quota = 72 divide by 15 plus 1 = 5 (the fraction is discarded)

#### 2.2 Calculating of seats

Formula: Number of votes for a list divides by Quota

#### 2.3 Voting

- \* A register of seating was used as a voters roll.
- \* A ballot paper was compiled by tossing the name of parties and the first one picked was the first on the ballot paper the rest were arranged alphabetically.

#### 3. Results

- \* Results Calculation Schedule
- \* Result Slip

#### 3.1 Deadlocks

In the case where surpluses for the one remaining seat are equal, then the number of votes received for each list must be compared and the list that received the most votes will be allocated that seat. In the case where the votes received are also equal, the MEO must inform the PEO in writing of the deadlock and the PEO must then request the MEC to issue a directive.

Results were announced after compilation of a result slip and results were as follows:

- \* DA 2 seats
- \* ACDP 0 seat
- \* ANC 11 seat
- \* In relation to the two remaining seats, it was agreed that the MEO will write a letter to the PEO who will then request the MEC to issue a directive.

#### **COUNCIL RESOLVED:** (27 September 2007)

That due to the deadlock of the votes, the MEO would inform the PEO in writing of the deadlock and the PEO would then request the MEC to issue a directive on the two (2) remaining seats.