# MINUTES

OF THE

2<sup>nd</sup> SPECIAL MEETING FOR THE YEAR 2008

of

# **MATJHABENG MUNICIPALITY**

held on

**WEDNESDAY, 30 APRIL 2008** 

at

14:00

# **COUNCILLORS ATTENDANCE: COUNCIL MEETING: 30 APRIL 2008**

### **ANC**

	PROPO			
1.	Leeto NS (Executive Mayor)	14.	Radebe ML (MMC)	
2.	Baaitjies M	15.	Ramaisa KA (Written Apology)	
3.	Dlova TW (MMC)	16.	Senoge MM	
4.	Humphries MF	17.	Sephiri MJ (Chief Whip)	
5.	Masoleng NI	18.	Speelman NW (MMC) (Telephonic	
			Apology)	
6.	Matlabe MMT	19.	Qwesha GL (Absent)	
7.	Sentle AN	20.	Thuthani ZA (MMC)	
8.	Ntsebeng MH (MMC)	21.	Radebe MC	
9.	ZP Noveld (MMC)	22.	Tihone ML	
10.	Molefi MJ	23.	Tsubane ME (Absent)	
11.	Nyembe ME (Absent)	24.	Twanana M	
12.	Petleki KI (Absent)	25.	Vanga NM (Absent)	
13.	Qabela V	26.	TD Khalipha (Absent)	
		27.	Majoe TS	
			,	
	\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\	ARD		
20			Montohioo DA (MMC)	
28.	Dlamini SC (MMC)	43	Montshioa BA (MMC)	
29.	Kotzee AP (MMC)	44.	Motshabi MP	
30.	Mahloko NN	45.	Mphikeleli MA	
31.	Majwede MC (Written Apology)	46.	Nakwa TA	
32.	Makgowe PV	47.	Ntsala NS	
33.	Mankayi NE	48.	Peterson E	
34.	Manzana NR	49.	Radebe LLF (Written Apology)	
35.	Masienyane MD	50.	Rubulana L (Speaker)	
36.	Mathebula MA (Absent)	51.	Nteo SD (Absent)	
37.	Mfebe MSE (MMC)	52.	Sejane LM	
38.	Mkhusane NC	53.	Semela ME	
39.	Moahloli MS (Written Apology)	54.	Sithole B	
40.	Mokhuma MS (Written Apology)	55.	Taliwe FE (Absent)	
41.	Mokobori KE	56.	Thembani PP	
42	Monjovo NE	57.	Tsatsa SJ	

#### DA

	PROPORTIONAL			
58.	Edeling JH	62.	Mokotedi TG (Written Apology)	
59.	Fourie JJC (Written Apology)	63.	Neumann VH	
60.	Marais JS (Written Apology)	64.	Vacant	
61.	Mhlafu BD (Absent)			
WARD				
65.	Styger A	68.	Smit DC (Written Apology)	
66.	Beneke R (Absent)	69.	Van Rooyen HC (Written Apology)	
67.	Botha PF (Absent)			

# FF+

PROPORTIONAL		
70.	Coetzee BJA (Absent)	

# **ACDP**

PROPORTIONAL		
71.	Mofoka MA	

# IND

	WARD		
72.	Liphoko SJ (Absent)		

# **OFFICIALS**

Dr B Malakoane Dr L Moorosi

Municipal Manager Chief Operations Officer Acting Director Corporate Support Services Administrative Officer (Corporate Services) Mr MP Matsie Mr J Jankowitz

#### **SECTION A**

#### 1. OPENING

The Speaker welcomed everybody and requested Cllr NE Mankayi to open the meeting with a prayer.

#### 2. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

See Councillors Attendance List on pages I and II

#### 3. OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 3.1 The Speaker announced that Cllr KE Mokobori's father passed away and a moment of silence was observed.
- 3.2 The Executive Mayor informed Council that Mr MS Besani was appointed as the Executive Director: Infrastructure.
- 3.3 The Executive Mayor indicated that the current Council Chambers was not conducive for Council meetings and needs to be properly structured as a matter of urgency. Cllr Nyembe could not enter the chambers and had to sit in the public gallery when attending meetings.

#### 4. DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None

#### **SECTION B**

5. REPORTS OF THE SPEAKER IN TERMS OF RULES 15(1) AND 99(4)

None

#### **SECTION C**

6. REPORTS OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR

SA4/2008

IV

7.	CLOSURE	
	The Speaker terminated the meeting at 14:20	
	I RUBUI ANA (SPEAKER)	DATE

# **INDEX**

6.	SECTION C REPORTS OF THE EXECUTIVE MAYOR ITEM SA4/2008			
ITEM NO	ITEM	PAGE		
SA4/2008	APPOINTMENT OF THE ACTING MUNICIPAL MANAGER (EXECUTIVE MAYOR) (5/5/2)	1		

#### SA4/2008

# <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE ACTING MUNICIPAL MANAGER</u> (EXECUTIVE MAYOR) (5/5/2)

# **PURPOSE**

To request the Council to appoint the Acting Municipal Manager.

# **COUNCIL RESOLVED (30 APRIL 2008)**

- 1. That Dr L Moorosi **BE APPOINTED** as Acting Municipal Manager until the post of the Municipal Manager is filled.
- 2. That the position of Municipal Manager **BE FILLED** as soon as possible.